Taralga Rugby Union Club Inc. Taralga Rugby Union Club Inc.
Tuesday, 1 December 2015

Photo Gallery
Resource Library
National Breast Cancer Charity Match
Trial Jersey Design
Competition Resources
Current Table & Results
Committe job decriptions
Junior Rugby
ACTRU Referees

Home Page







Taralga is a Historic Village situated on the southern Tablelands of NSW, 45km north of Goulburn on a sealed road. The village of Taralga has a population of about 370. It is the centre of a fertile district producing fine wool, fat lambs, prime beef, potatoes, berries and grapes for wine. Taralga is a close knit community with an active Rugby Union Club, working to preserve the proud heritage from the hardy pioneers.

Rugby was first established in Taralga in 1886, playing matches against Goulburn and Crookwell. Rugby was played for many more years before Rugby League took a stong hold. The sides had a very high success rate winning many premierships, until the early 1990`s when the club folded.

Taralga Rugby Union Club was reformed in 2000 and the team won the Monaro Second Grade Competition in their first season, defeating the Hall Bushrangers 17-7 in the Grand Final.
In 2001 Taralga were promoted to the Monaro first Grade Competition. They experienced mixed results but still managed to finish in forth spot, giving them a Semi-Final birth. The team was defeated in the Minor Semi-Final.
The ACTRU Second Division competition was introduced in the 2002 season. This gave the country teams from the Monaro division, that had only one senior team, the oportunity to compete in their own competition. Taralga managed to finish in 3rd place before losing the Minor Semi Final for the second consecutive year.

In 2003 Taralga finished Minor Premiers with a record of 12 wins, 1 loss and 1 draw. They Defeated Boorowa 17-12 in a home Major Semi Final Match, However were defeated by Unis/Norths two weeks later at home in the Grand Final.

The season 2004 began a rebuilding phase for the club, with a number of young local boys getting their chance to play in the starting side on a regular basis. The team finished third and defeated Bombala in the Minor Semi Final before losing the Preliminary Final and just missing out on their second successive Grand Final appearance. 2005 was the first and only year that the Tigers missed out on a Finals birth after narrowly finishing in fifth spot. The team were back in the Finals in 2006 after finishing fourth, however, lost their Minor Semi Final match.

The 2007 season was the most successful in the clubs reformed history. The Tigers were ACTRU Second Division Premiers, Minor Premiers and Upper Lachlan Shire Cup Champions. Taralga won the Grand Final 16-14 at the new Taralga Sports Field with the side remaining undefeated at home.  

The Tigers continued their success in 2008 finishing up as Minor Premiers and Upper Lachlan Shire Cup Champions. The club experiemced a lean patch in 2009 and 2011 while being defeated in the 2010 Minor Semi Final and the 2012 Preliminary Final.

The Tigers were defeated in the 2013 Grand Final 29-19 by the Jindabyne Bushpigs in Jindabyne.
The Club`s competing in the 2014 ACTRU Second Division Competition include;  Boorowa, Bungendore, Crookwell, Jindabyne and Taralga. 
Check out our CLUB HISTORY on this web site.




web hit counter
Provided by hit counter website.

Australian Rugby Union
ARU Concussion Guidance (Rugby Public)
Revised ARU Member Protection Policy 2014
ARU calls for nominations for 2014 HSBC VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR
National Rugby Week 2014 registrations now OPEN!
Online Serious Injury Report
Anti-Doping: Get Educated
ACT and Southern NSW Rugby Union
No news currently available
ACT Rugby Union
Brumbies Website

Verve Content Management System